How to Get Licensed

A career as a bail agent is indeed an exciting profession.  As an industry, we are dedicated to training top-notch, professional bail agents.  Because we view ourselves as a player in North Carolina’s justice system, the bail agents we train need to be prepared to interact with other professionals on a day-to-day basis.

To become a bail agent, one must follow the detailed application process through the North Carolina Department of Insurance.  We believe this process adds to the professionalism of our industry and allows for qualified individuals to become bail agents. More information can be found in the North Carolina Licensing Examination Bail Bond Candidates Guide.

As you begin this process, please contact us if you have questions or need guidance.  We are available as a resource to you. Click here to register or view scheduled Pre-Licensing "PLE" Courses.


How to Become a Licensed Bail Agent

 Step 1
http://ncbaa.com/portals/0/PLE/requirments.png                       

Step 2
                           http://ncbaa.com/portals/0/PLE/class.png

Step 3
           http://ncbaa.com/portals/0/PLE/app.png 

Step 4
                                        http://ncbaa.com/portals/0/PLE/pass.png

Step 5
                                           http://ncbaa.com/portals/0/BADGE2.png

 Meet the Requirements

 Take a Pre-Licensing
 (PLE) Course

Submit an Electronic Application

 Take and Pass the State Exam

Get your Shield

Step 1: Meet Licensing Qualifications

Following are the qualifications for obtaining a Bail Bond License according to North Carolina General Statute §58-71-50:
  1. You must be a resident of the state of North Carolina for at least six consecutive months before making application for a bail bondsman and/or bail bond runner license.
  2. You must be at least 21 years of age.
  3. Have obtained a high school diploma or its equivalent
  4. Have knowledge, training, or experience of sufficient duration and extent to provide the competence necessary to fulfill the responsibilities of a licensee.
  5. Have no outstanding bail bond obligations
  6. Have no current or prior violations of Article 71 of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes or of Article 26 of Chapter 15A of the North Carolina General Statutes.
  7. Not have been in any manner disqualified under North Carolina law or any other state to engage in the bail bond business.
  8. Hold a valid and current North Carolina driver’s license or valid North Carolina identification card issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
Prohibited persons from obtaining a Bail Bonds License:·         
  • Sheriff, deputy sheriff, other law enforcement officer, judicial official, attorney, parole officer, probation officer,jailer, assistance jailer, employee of the General Court of Justice, nor any other public employee assigned to duties relating to the administration of the criminal justice, nor the spouse of any such person.
  • A person who is or has ever been convicted of a felony. 
  • A person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor drug violation within the previous 24 months.

Step 2: Take a Pre-Licensing Education (PLE) Course

Register and complete the Pre-Licensing (PLE) Course with the North Carolina Bail Agents Association. The PLE Course is a two-day class which includes a classroom test. Available classes will be listed below until they are at capacity. WALK-INS ARE WELCOME but must arrive by 8:45 am. If a class reaches capacity or is rescheduled, it will be removed from the website by 5:00 pm on the Friday afternoon before the class.


Register Online

Or 
You may also download and print out the form below for registration. 2018-2019 PLE REGISTRATION FORM
Registrations may be mailed with MO or Certified Check to 1220 Eastchester Dr., Ste 104, High Point, NC  27265, faxed with Credit Card information to 1-866-249-7020, emailed with Credit Card  information to info@ncbaa.com or you can register online. 

Class Details
Location: NCBAA offers PLE Classes at various locations across the State, scheduled classes can be found here. Unless otherwise noted, Classes are held at the NCBAA Headquarters, located at 1220 Eastchester Dr., Ste 106, High Point, NC 27265. 
Wingate by Wyndham offers people attending NCBAA functions a room rate of $69.00 per night.  To get this discount, contact the hotel directly at 336-812-8787 and  mention that you want the NCBAA Discounted Room Rate.  The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the office and is easy access to I-40.
Time: The PLE Course is a Two-Day Course. Unless otherwise noted, Classes begin at 9:00 am and end at 5:00 both days, please arrive by 8:40 am to ensure enough time to check-in. Schedules subject to change or cancellation at any time prior to class date.
What to Bring: Students must bring a Photo ID to the PLE Class.
Class Room Test: Each applicant for a Bail Bond License must attend a Pre-Licensing Class and pass a comprehensive PLE test that is given on the second day of the session in order to receive their PLE certificate of completion.  PLE Certificates are valid for six months from the date the class is successfully completed. 
Pass/Fail notification for the PLE class test as well as the exam score will be emailed to the email address provided by the individual student within 48 hours of your class.  If you do not receive your grade, check your SPAM/JUNK folder and then contact NCBAA at 919-832-0867.
*If you did not pass your Pre-Licensing test, contact our office to reschedule your test.  Re-tests must be completed within 90 days of failed exam.  At any time prior to expiration of your certificate you may take a refresher course for free. If your certificate expires (valid for 6 months), you may retake the class for 1/2 price (class must be scheduled within 6 months of expiration of certificate).  If you do not pass your state exam and you took Pre-Licensing class from NCBAA previously, you may take another class for FREE within one year of taking the state exam.  Repeated rescheduling (more than twice) of class reservation or exam will not be allowed.  Failure to take scheduled class or exam after two absences will result in a required refresher course at a rate of $225.00.
Refund/Rescheduling Policy: If you do not plan to attend any PLE class and require a refund, a request must be made in writing (prior to the scheduled class) and only 1/2 of the paid tuition is refundable. There is no refund for a classes that have been taken by the student.  If you do not take the class for which you are scheduled, you may request to attend a future class within six months of the original class date.
Military Discount: As a thank you to our military, any prelicensing class attendee who is a current or former member of the military (Honorably Discharged) will receive a $100.00 discount for this class. You may attach your DD214 or proof of active status and you will receive this discount.*

Step 3: Electronic Application

Submit an Electronic Application by completing/uploading all required documentation and paying licensing application fees
As of December 18, 2012, all bail bonding applications are to be submitted electronically to the North Carolina Department of Insurance, through the North Carolina License Management System (NCLMS). Applicants for initial or additional bail bond licenses must follow the step listed in the Candidate Guide - March 2018 when applying through the NCLMS system.
 
Cost Breakdown for Obtaining a License:
These are the costs for items listed in legislation.  There may be other costs.  This should be discussed with your Supervising Agent.  The PLE Course covers information about all license applications and is designed for students with no knowledge of bail bond laws. 
License Application: 
$231 – Runner License (works for a Professional Bondsman)
$311 – Surety Bondsman License
State Bail Bond License Exam: $40

Step 4: State exam

Once your application is completed and approved by the North Carolina Department of Insurance (NCDOI), Applicants will receive a letter/notification from NCDOI permitting them to schedule and take that state exam at a Pearson Vue Testing Facility.

The applicant will be provided his/her score once the exam has been completed and NCDOI will be notified. Pearson Vue staff will take your photo for your bail bonding identification. 

 

Step 5: Receive your Bail Bonding License

Once the student passes the exam and is approved by NCDOI, the student will receive his/her licenses within 10 to 12 business days from the examination date. The Bail Bonding License(s) will be mailed to the bail agent. Status of the licensure can be checked on the “Individual Lookup for License Status”.  If you do not receive your license(s) within the 10-12 business days, you can call the Bail Bond Regulatory Division at the North Carolina Department of Insurance at 919-807-6850, Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.

 Applicants for initial licensing will need a supervising agent for one year.

 Bail Agent can order their Shields Here.

Pearson VUE Contact Information

You can also get answers to your questions about the new process by contacting the North Carolina Licensing Office of Pearson VUE directly for assistance:

PHONE (Toll Free): 866-265-6329 
E-MAIL: NorthCarolinaLicensingOffice@pearson.com  
US MAIL:
NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE
PO Box 14209
Raleigh, NC 27620    FAX: 919-313-4706

North Carolina Licensing Examination Bail Bond Candidates Guide

Bounty Hunting in North Carolina

Bounty Hunting is not legal in North Carolina.  Any person conducting bail bond business or who wishes to engage in fugitive recovery activities must hold a bail bond license issued by the North Carolina Department of Insurance. To obtain your NC bail bonding license, please refer to the steps above.